top of page

Twelve Athletes Earn Week 13 Ed Doherty Award Nomination Medallions

PHOENIX, Ariz. – November 15, 2022 – The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club (GCSGC) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Week 13 Ed Doherty Award Nomination Medallions™. Twelve players are recognized for outstanding play during their respective games on Friday, November 11, 2022: Chris Arviso (Sr. QB – Mountain Pointe; Drew Cowart (Sr. QB – ALA Queen Creek); Cooper French (Sr. RB – Coconino); My’Kiel Gardner (Sr. DE – Liberty); Matthew Klopfenstein (Sr. TE – Horizon); Ja’Kobi Lane (Sr. WR – Red Mountain); Tyler Mustain (Sr. MLB/TE – Pusch Ridge); Elijah Rushing (Jr. DE – Salpointe Catholic); Isaac Stopke (Sr. RB – Lake Havasu); Dylan Tapley (Jr. WR/FS – Desert Mountain); A’Mauri Washington (Sr. DT – Chandler); and Demond Williams (Jr. QB – Basha).

Ten of the 12 players were named on the 71-player Week 3 Watch List™ released on September 6, 2022. All twelve players will receive their Nomination Medallions at an upcoming school event this week. By earning Ed Doherty Award Nomination Medallions, they will attend the end of season Ed Doherty Award Luncheon on December 17, 2022, where one athlete will become the recipient of the Ed Doherty Award.

Details on their individual performances on November 11th are as follows: Chris Arviso – Sr. QB – Mountain Pointe Arviso was the steady leader as the Pride finished 7-3 and earned a berth into the 6A playoffs. He threw for 2,180yds and 21TDs, while adding 4 rushing TDs.

Drew Cowart – Sr. QB – ALA Queen Creek Leading the 9-1 5A Patriots into the Open with a 45-19 win over Horizon, Cowart passed for 179yds and 2TDs, finishing the regular season with 2,267yds and 33TDs.

Cooper French – Sr. RB – Coconino

French closed out his senior season rushing for 357yds on 22 carries and 5TDs in an 82-0 Panthers win o er rival Flagstaff. My‘Kiel Gardner – Sr. DE – Liberty The big man for the Open’s top seeded Lions defense, Gardner was the focus of opponents blocking schemes and still tallied 51 tackles, 4.5 sacks, caused 3 fumbles and recovered 2 fumbles.

Matthew Klopfenstein – Sr. TE – Horizon The Baylor TE commit has the Huskies back in the 5A playoffs to defend their 2021 title. He made 35 catches for 526yds and 4TDs.

Ja’Kobi Lane – Sr. WR – Red Mountain Lane led the back to the 6A playoffs with a 21-14 rivalry win over Mountain View, finishing the regular season with 50 receptions for 637yds and 8TDs.

Tyler Mustain – Sr. MLB/TE – Pusch Ridge Leading the Lions on a quest for a 3A title, Mustain delivers on both side of the ball with 151 tackles, 15.5 TFLs, 5.5 sacks, 2 fumbles caused and 2 recovered on defense. He added 698yds receiving with 13TDs on the offensive side. Elijah Rushing – Jr. DE – Salpointe Catholic Rushing helped lead the Lancers to a 6A playoff bid with 60 tackles, 11.5 TFLs, 10.5 sacks, 58 QB hurries and 2 caused fumbles.

Isaac Stopke – Sr. RB – Lake Havasu Stopke rushed for 1,618yds and 24TDs on the season, leading the Knights back to the 4A playoffs. It’s his 3rd consecutive 1,100+yd season and he has career rushing totals of 4,393yds. Dylan Tapley – Jr. WR/FS – Desert Mountain Tapley was the leading target for the Wolves‘ passing game with 42 catches for 859yds and 14TDs. He also tallied 32 tackles on defense and led the team with 5 INTs.

A’Mauri Washington – Sr. DT – Chandler The centerpiece for the Huskies defense that allowed only 11pts/game, Washington totaled 32 tackles, 13 TFLs, 5 sacks and caused 2 fumbles.

Demond Williams – Jr. QB – Basha As the 9-1 Bears wrapped up the #2 Open seed with a 52-7 over Perry, Williams closed out the regular season with 1,743yds passing, 20TDs, 493yds rushing and 3TDs.

To learn more about the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club and to purchase tickets to the Ed Doherty Award Luncheon, visit

About Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club

The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is the steward of the Ed Doherty Award and is the most meaningful advocate of high school football in the State of Arizona. The mission of the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is to represent Arizona amateur athletics by bringing national attention to the extraordinary qualities of our young people and serve in the pursuit of athletic achievement, academic advancement, and greater social affinity.

About the Ed Doherty Award

For 37 years, the Ed Doherty Award has been the State of Arizona’s highest individual high school football honor and is awarded annually to the state’s most outstanding high school football player by the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club. The Ed Doherty Award recognizes the player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity. The winner of the award epitomizes great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work. In addition to on-field performance, the Ed Doherty Award recognizes the well-rounded accomplishments of community involvement, school pride, and academics.

159 views0 comments


bottom of page