top of page

Barrios, Bennett, Bennett, Hunter, Milek & Robinson Earn Week 7 Medallions

The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club (GCSGC) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Week 7 Ed Doherty Award Nomination Medallions. Six players are recognized for outstanding play during their respective games on Friday, October 4, 2019: Brandon Barrios (Sr. RB/LB, Ironwood Ridge HS); Zach Bennett (Jr. RB, Coconino HS); Cade Bennett (Sr. OL/DL, Notre Dame Prep); Dae Dae Hunter (Sr. RB, Chandler HS); Andrew Milek (Sr. OL, Brophy Prep HS); and Bijan Robinson (Sr. RB, Salpointe Catholic HS).

“Week 7 showed that the football talent in Arizona is extremely deep and the performances delivered by these athletes during region play showed us they were prime time players,” said Rob Yowell, Selection Committee Chair. “This is the time of year where the cream rises to the top. These six young men showed why football in Arizona is on the rise and deserve their official nominations for the Ed Doherty Award.”

Cade Bennett, Hunter, Milek and Robinson were named on the 56-player Week 3 Watch List™ released on September 10, 2019. Robinson was the recipient of the 2018 Ed Doherty Award. All six players will receive their Medallions at an upcoming school event this week. By earning these Ed Doherty Award Nomination Medallions, they will attend the end of season Ed Doherty Award Luncheon on December 14, 2019 where one athlete will become the recipient of the Ed Doherty Award.

Details on their individual performances on October 4th are as follows:

Brandon Barrios – Sr. RB/LB – Ironwood Ridge HS

In Week 7, the Ironwood Ridge beat Nogales 35-9 as Brandon Barrios broke the school's single game rushing record with 313yds on 32 carries. He scored 3 TDs and added another 55 return yards to his stat line.

Zach Bennett – Jr. RB – Coconino HS

In Week 7, the junior RB rushed for 174yds and 3TDs to maintain Coconino's 6-0 record in the 34-27 come from behind win over Prescott. Bennett has 998yds rushing and 17TDs on boards half way through the season.

Cade Bennett – Sr. OL/DL – Notre Dame Prep HS

Cade Bennett led the offensive line for the Notre Dame Saints to a 30-7 win over McClintock in Week 7 and helped the defensive line hold the Chargers to -44yds rushing.

Dae Dae Hunter – Sr. RB – Chandler HS

Dae Dae Hunter logged 263yds on 13 carries and 4TDs for the Wolves in the Week 7 win over Perry 84-49.

Andrew Milek – Sr. OL – Brophy Prep HS

Andrew Milek anchored the offensive line for Brophy while the offence logged 333yds in the Broncos 27-14 upset win over Hamilton during Week 7.

Bijan Robinson – Sr. RB – Salpointe Catholic HS

During the Week 7 win over Saguaro, the 2018 Ed Doherty Award winner became the state's all-time rusher for 4A-5A-6A now standing at 5,924 rushing yards in his high school career with half the season remaining. Robinson posted 130yds and 4 rushing TDs in the Salpointe's game with Saguaro also adding a TD reception and 100+ yds in KO returns.

To learn more about the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club and previous Ed Doherty Award winners, visit

About Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club

The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is the steward of the Ed Doherty Award and is the most meaningful advocate of high school football in the State of Arizona. The mission of the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is to represent Arizona amateur athletics by bringing national attention to the extraordinary qualities of our young people and serve in the pursuit of athletic achievement, academic advancement and greater social affinity.

About the Ed Doherty Award

For 32 years, the Ed Doherty Award has been the State of Arizona’s highest individual high school football honor and is awarded annually to the state’s most outstanding high school football player by the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club. The Ed Doherty Award recognizes the player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity. The winner of the award epitomizes great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work. In addition to on-field performance, the Ed Doherty Award recognizes the well-rounded accomplishments of community involvement, school pride, and academics.

312 views0 comments


bottom of page